RSS

Chinese Chicken Wings

10 Jan
Chinese Chicken Wings

UPDATE 11JAN2012: Playing with some div tags to try to make the recipe more visually appealing. WordPress’s editor only allows so much customized HTML, which can make things difficult. Still trying to figure out if there is a way to add a print button that will only print the recipe. Don’t know if javascript will work, and javascript isn’t really my forte anyways.

I’m trying to touch up on my HTML skills, so bear with me as I try to figure out how I want these entries to look. There may be a theme change here and there, as well.

I usually buy chickens whole. It’s cheaper that way. I’ll cut the breast meat off and separate the thighs from the drumsticks. I’ll even use the leftover carcass to make chicken stock for soups or sauces later. But then there are the chicken wings. I can’t make a meal out of just 2 chicken wings, so I usually just throw them in a zip lock bag and freeze them. I do this every time. Eventually I accrue so many in my freezer that I have no choice but to cook them.

But how?

That was the question I was faced with this afternoon as they were thawing in my refrigerator. How, especially, can I turn them into an actual meal, rather than just a cheap tasting appetizer?

Behold! Rarely can I concoct a recipe straight from my brain and have it turn out so well that it doesn’t require tweaking. To make it a meal, I made a quick miso slaw and cooked some brown rice.

Ingredients:

Chicken and Marinade

  • 6 large chicken wings (4 small chicken thighs would work well too. )
  • 2 cloves of garlic
  • 1 Tablespoon of Sambal Oelek (found in most grocery stores and asian markets. Sriracha can be substituted.)
  • 1/3 cup of rice wine vinegar
  • 1/3 cup of soy sauce
  • 1 teaspoon of Worcestershire sauce
  • 2 Tablespoons of sugar
  • 1 green onion
  • 1 teaspoon of ground ginger

For the Miso Slaw

  • 2 Tablespoons of your choice of miso
  • 1/4 of a small green cabbage
  • 1 carrot
  • 1 Tablespoon Aji Mirin (sweet cooking rice wine)
  • 1/4 cup rice wine vinegar

For the Brown Rice

  • 1/2 cup brown jasmine rice
  • 1 cup water

For Frying

  • 1/2 cup of all purpose flour
  • 1/2 cup of corn starch
  • vegetable oil or canola oil for frying*

Filler text until I can figure out how to separate these divs in wordpress’s editor

Directions

Make the Marinade:

  1. Crush garlic with the side of your knife to remove skin. Roughly chop, but leave the pieces fairly large. Slice green onion thinly.
  2. Combine in a small bowl the garlic, onion, sambal oelek, rice wine vinegar, soy sauce, worcestershire sauce, sugar, and ground ginger. All them ingredients. Whisk it together.
  3. Place chicken in a large ziplock bag and pour the marinade in there as well. Remove as much air as possible and seal the bag. I only marinated this for 2 hours, and they were quite tasty. Can be marinated for up to 24 hours.

Make the Miso Slaw:

  1. Thinly slice cabbage.
  2. Grate carrot and combine with cabbage.
  3. In a separate bowl, whisk together miso, aji mirin, and rice wine vinegar.
  4. Combine all ingredients in a bowl and refrigerate for an hour. The acid and salt in this recipe will draw the water out of the cabbage, resulting in a very wet slaw. This extra liquid should be drained before consuming.

Now to finish:

  1. Thoroughly combine flour and cornstarch in a bowl.
  2. Heat oil to about 345 degrees F. This is a relatively low temperature for frying, but the sugar content in the marinade will cause the chicken to brown very quickly. As a result, I can almost guarantee that you will need to finish the chicken in an oven, so go ahead and preheat the oven to 350 degrees as well.
  3. Once the oil and the oven are preheated, combine the water and rice in a small sauce pot and place on high heat. Once this boils, turn the heat to low and place a lid on the pot. Set a timer for 20 minutes. If you have a rice steamer, you can follow the instructions for the cooker and cook your rice that way, too.
  4. Lightly coat chicken in flour and cornstarch mixture and gently add to hot oil. Don’t throw away the marinade! When chicken is a delicious golden brown, use a meat thermometer to check the temperature. Fully cooked chicken should be 160 degrees F. To make sure chicken is cooked, check the temperature in at least two places on the largest piece of chicken.
  5. If chicken is not fully cooked, place on a sheet pan and place in the oven. Cook for about 5-10 more minutes.
  6. While the chicken is frying, pour the marinade that you didn’t throw away (right?) into a small saute pan. Bring this to a boil for a quick minute and then remove from the heat. This makes a great finishing sauce.
  7. If the rice is finished before the chicken, just remove from heat and keep the lid on.
  8. Plate it up!

*I prefer to shallow fry in a cast iron skillet. It isn’t any healthier, but I find that I use less oil as opposed to using a large pot for frying or a counter top frialator. When shallow frying, be sure to frequently turn the chicken to ensure even cooking.

Well, I ate the crap out of this. The salty spiciness of the chicken and the tartness of the slaw match pretty damn well with the nutty brown rice. And, of course, who can argue with crispy chicken skin? Best of all, I got rid of those chicken wings that pile up in my freezer.

So let me know what you think!

 
4 Comments

Posted by on January 10, 2012 in Asian, Entree/Main Dish, Food

 

Tags: , , ,

4 responses to “Chinese Chicken Wings

  1. airsquadron

    January 11, 2012 at 4:33 am

    your html is good bro, keep it up. and your post is yummy.

     
  2. laura

    January 10, 2012 at 8:43 pm

    So I told you to your face, but I’ll tell you again! Thanks for making me tasty meals!!

     
  3. Anonymous

    January 10, 2012 at 8:40 pm

    So I told you to your face, but I’ll tell you again! Thanks for feeding meee tasty meeals!!

     

Thoughts?

 
