RSS

Barrack’s Cooking: Moroccan Style Turkey with Chickpeas

20 Feb
Barrack’s Cooking: Moroccan Style Turkey with Chickpeas

I’ve expressed my love for my crock pot many times, but I just can’t help doing it again. I love my crock pot!

I often spend a lot of time in the kitchen putting together a good recipe. I cut, cook, take pictures, assemble, prepare, drink some wine, take more pictures, and end up with an awesome meal and great content for my blog. It’s very satisfying, actually, which is why I keep doing it.

As much as I love the labor in cooking, though, I get even more satisfaction when I put almost no effort into a meal and it still comes out just as fantastic! There are, after all, days when I just don’t have time for an elaborate meal or I’m just feeling lazy but still want something healthy.

This meal is just that. Consequently, this particular blog entry seems short compared to my more elaborate meals. Still tasty, though.

Credit must go where credit is due, however, as this recipe is based off of one that I got from another blog. My first preparation of this was the day after we got home from the hospital with Jack, because it was easy. It wasn’t meant for a crock pot, but I threw it in there anyway. I left some of the ingredients out, such as raisins, because Laura isn’t fond of them. Though I thoroughly enjoyed the original recipe (minus the raisins of course), Laura was put off by the amount of cumin and cinnamon. So my version of this cuts the cinnamon and replaces some of the cumin with paprika, another often used Moroccan spice. Make sure you check out the original (check out the whole blog while you’re there, she’s got some good recipes), though, as you may prefer it to mine.

Moroccan Style Turkey and Chickpeas

Makes 4-6 servings

Ingredients:

  • 1 pound of ground turkey
  • 1 Tablespoon of olive oil
  • 2 medium onions
  • 1 carrot
  • 1/2 teaspoon of cumin
  • 1 teaspoon of sweet or hot paprika
  • 1/4 teaspoon of cinnamon
  • 1/2 teaspoon of ground coriander
  • 1/2 teaspoon black pepper
  • 1/4 teaspoon of cayenne pepper
  • 1 cup of chicken broth
  • 3 ounces of tomato paste
  • The zest of one lemon
  • The Juice of half of a lemon
  • 1 can of chickpeas, drained and rinsed
  • Salt to taste

Directions:

  1. Julienne the onion and slice the carrot on a bias.

    Cuttin up the veg

    Cuttin up the veg

  2. Add the olive oil, onions, carrot, all of the spices, chicken broth, tomato paste, lemon zest, lemon juice, and ground turkey to the crock pot. Stir very well, cutting up the ground turkey into small pieces.

    Start tossin that stuff in there

    Start tossin that stuff in there

  3. Cover and let this cook on high for about 3-4 hours. Stir occasionally, as the turkey will start to bind together again as it cooks.

    Stir it up

    Stir it up

  4. After the 3-4 hours, stir in the chick peas. Cover again, but leave it vented so the juices start to reduce. Cook for at least one more hour.
  5. Salt to taste.

    Put it on a plate and eat it

    Put it on a plate and eat it

Served mine with saute veggies

Served mine with saute veggies

Yep, that’s it. Garnish it with a little chopped cilantro or parsley or sprinkle some paprika over it. Once again, this is great as a meal on its own, or you can serve it with rice, a vegetable, or anything else you feel like.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on February 20, 2012 in Entree/Main Dish, Food, Health

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

Thoughts?

 
