RSS

Where does the time go?

23 Feb

I’ve been back to work since Tuesday of this week, and I’m not even sure how it’s Thursday already. Fortunately, Thursdays are “family days”, which means we get released from duty early. I know, the Army is hard. Four day weekends at least once a month and short days on every Thursday. I don’t know how I deal.

The Army isn’t really great at any particular thing, except the infantry of course. Most of those guys are great at what they do, and I wouldn’t stand a chance in their shoes. One thing that the Army is good at, though, is wasting everybody’s time. My days are filled with trips to the motorpool, waiting for the higher-ups to decide what needs to be done and how to do it, and then beginning the task at hand only to find out that those in charge decided they want it done a different way. Oh, but it’s approaching the end of the duty-day, so just wrap things up and then we’ll start again tomorrow. 

Right.

I should’t really be complaining, though. I get paid to do all of this nothing. It just becomes frustrating, when I know that there is so much to be done at home and I’m just standing around in the motorpool or sitting on a picnic table underneath a big tree because I was told to be there and wait. That’s what happens when you’re junior enlisted. The, when I become an NCO, I’ll constantly be staying late because I’ll be in meetings and trying to get my soldiers last minute information so they know where to go sit and wait.

Anyways, that’s my rant for the morning, and one of the reasons why I’ve been a little more absent from the blog. I believe my writing and recipes will probably have to be reserved for the weekend, since my time feels short when I get home from the day.

Coming up (hopefully soon):

Homemade Semolina Pasta Dough
Lasagna Bolognese
Caprese Galettes (might change the name to something else)
Some kind of chicken dish that is still on paper 😉 

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on February 23, 2012 in Food

 

Thoughts?

 
