RSS

Barrack’s Cooking: Chicken Enchilada Casserole

31 Aug
Barrack’s Cooking: Chicken Enchilada Casserole

I planned on doing very little this Labor Day weekend, and still I feel that the first day of this four-day has kept me busy, yet somehow unproductive. It feels like all I’ve done this morning and throughout the day is pick up the place, cook some stuff (mostly Jack’s baby food), take care of the little one, and pick up some more. But I still feel like I got nothing done. Hopefully the rest of you have gotten a more productive (or at least relaxing) start to your Holiday weekend.

Well, I did manage to break out the slow cooker today. My strive for laziness sought out an easy and fun sounding recipe that I believe will appeal to bachelors/bachelorettes and barrack’s dwellers alike. You wouldn’t believe how satisfying it is to occasionally have somebody come up to me in the motor pool and tell me that they enjoy my recipes and look forward to trying them out. I originally started this blog just as a hobby and something to keep my occupied, but that kind of feedback really motivates me. So this one’s for all the single soldiers out there.

I was going through a slow cooker recipe book when I found this. It’s not something that I would normally have chosen for myself, being that it’s a pretty rich recipe. But it’s perfect for anybody with a slow cooker looking to do something different other than chili, stews, soups, or rice dishes. It is another one pot wonder, but would go pretty well with one of those microwaveable steamed vegetable bags.

For this recipe, you’ll need a knife and cutting board and a medium to large slow cooker. Pretty damn simple. I adjusted the original recipe pretty drastically, cutting back the amount of cheese and sour cream. The original called for two whole cups of sour cream, and I bet I didn’t even use 3/4 of a cup. It also wanted four cups of shredded cheese. I used a total of one cup. That’s a pretty big calorie difference.

Chicken Enchilada Casserole

Adapted from Not Your Mother’s Slow Cooker Cookbook by Beth Hensberger and Julie Kaufmann

Makes about six to eight servings (can be halved for smaller slow cookers)

Ingredients:

  • 1 large onion
  • One large can of green enchilada sauce (28 ounces)
  • 12 soft corn tortillas
  • 2 each boneless skinless chicken breasts
  • 1 cup of shredded cheese, plus some for garnishing
  • 1 cup of sour cream, plus a dollop for garnishing
Mise en place

Mise en place

Directions:

  1. Cut off the end and the core of the onion, slice in half, place the flat ends down, and slice it vertically. This is called a French cut. Set aside.

    frenched onion

    And that’s how you French cut an onion

  2. Cut the tortillas into 4 strips.

    Tortillas

    Sliced in four

  3. Cut the chicken breasts into approximately 3/4 inch to 1 inch cubes.

    Cut the chicken

    Cut it up

  4. Now we start layering our casserole. Pour a little of the enchilada sauce on the bottom to coat the bottom. Start by adding 1/4 of the tortilla strips. Over that, layer 1/3 of the chicken, 1/3 of the sliced onions,  1/4 cup of shredded cheese, and 1/4 of the can of enchilada sauce.

    First Layer

    And that’s what the first layer looks like

  5. Repeat this process. Add 1/4 of the tortilla strips, another 1/3 chicken, 1/3 of onions,  1/4 cup of cheese, and another 1/4 can of sauce. Again add tortilla strips, chicken, onions, cheese, and sauce. Finally, top it off with the last of the tortilla strips, cheese, and sauce. You may need to spread the sauce around with a spatula to coat the top layer. Did all of that make sense? I hope so.

    Almost Ready

    Or I guess you could just skip that layering crap and just throw it all in there

  6. With the cup of sour cream, place dollops over the top. Spread it evenly with a spatula.

    Sour Cream

    Everything tastes better with a dollop of Daisy

  7. Turn on the slow cooker. Cook this on high for 2 to 3 hours. If you’re going to be out all day, you can cook this on the lowest setting for 6 to 8 hours. When finished, turn off the cooker and sprinkle a little cheese on top if you desire. It will make it look a little more attractive.

    Done

    Ain’t she a beauty, Clark?

  8. Serve it up!
Eat it

This one’s for you, Martinez

This is not the prettiest meal I’ve ever made. Casseroles are rarely eaten because they are aesthetically pleasing, however. Rest assured, this is a pretty delicious meal that even surprised me and my wife. The flavors meld together pretty well and the corn tortillas cook down to give this dish a nice polenta like texture.

At six servings, this comes out to 435 calories, 26 grams of fat (holy crap), 28 grams of carbs, and 6 grams of protein. Glad I took out all that extra cheese and sour cream, aren’t ya?

 

Tags: , , , , ,

Thoughts?

 
