RSS

Labor Day, what? BBQ Spiral Cut Hot Dogs!

03 Sep
Labor Day, what? BBQ Spiral Cut Hot Dogs!

It’s the last day of my Labor Day four-day weekend. My wife worked all day (by that I mean she left at seven this morning and is still at work as I write this at 7:12 pm,) and I had the baby boy to myself. We ran a few errands, got some things over at the NEX, and walked around Ward Centers.

I wasn’t even planning on doing a post today. While I was at the commissary, I decided I wanted hot dogs for dinner, seeing as I would be cooking for just myself. When I got home, I remembered a friend and old boss of mine had posted pics of spiral cut hot dogs on his facebook. Oh, yeah, this is happening.

I even figured I’d take it a step further and let the hot dogs sit in some BBQ sauce.

So why spiral cut a hot dog? From what I gather from the online community, one would do this to a hot dog to increase its surface area for more thorough cooking and to expose the skin to give it crispy edges while on the grill. This increases the rate of delicious maillard browning and caramelization and decreases blistering. When cooked and on a bun the little nooks and crannies are known catch toppings quite well.

So, I got my hot dogs, I got some buns, and a cutting board. No need for a fancy recipe layout here.

Hot Dogs

That, there, is hot dogs

I started with one of my steak knives, as my paring knife is dull. Yes, duller than my steak knives. Turns out my knife skills aren’t quite what they used to be. Best strategy for this is to place to dog on a cutting board, angle your knife onto the dog and slowly roll it forward while carefully slicing into it until you reach the end. I butchered two of the hot dogs before I got the hang of it.

spiral cut

Not as easy as it sounds.

Once I sliced them, I threw them in a zip lock bag, poured in a little BBQ sauce I had in the fridge, added some Worcestershire and Cholula, and let it sit for a few hours in the fridge.

bbq dogs

Never thought I’d marinate a hot dog

I tossed them on the grill and made sure to turn them every few minutes so they wouldn’t burn. They can get a little tricky, as they are a bit more fragile with the spiral cut. Just handle them carefully.

On the grill

On the grill

They’ll turn a nice color once they caramelize and should be ready to take off the grill after 15 minutes.

Grilled

Done and lookin good

I served up these delicious dogs on buns with mayo spread on them (don’t judge me), yellow mustard, ketchup, dill relish, and homemade sweet red onion relish.

Delicious Dogs

Best hot dogs ever!

They were, indeed, quite delicious. Exposing the skin did give the grilled dogs a nice, crisp texture, and there’s no way the sauce would have held onto the hot dog while it was cooking if it hadn’t been spiral cut. One of the biggest problems I have with hot dogs is that I really enjoy piling toppings onto them, but they always fall out when I attempt to eat it. The crevices in the dog definitely held on to those toppings better than normal.

So would I do it again? Damn right!

 
2 Comments

Posted by on September 3, 2012 in Beef, Entree/Main Dish, Food

 

Tags: , , , ,

2 responses to “Labor Day, what? BBQ Spiral Cut Hot Dogs!

  1. Anonymous

    September 4, 2012 at 6:41 am

    If you stick a wooden skewer through the hot dog end-to-end (it take a couple of tries!), you can push your knife right through the dog until it hits the wood. Then just turn the dog on the skewer with your knife at an angle until you reach the bottom. Voila!

     

Thoughts?

 
